Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, The Infernal Devices #1

The Infernal Devices #1: Clockwork Angel 

Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books, August 31, 2010
(an imprint of Simon & Schuster)
ISBN: 9781416975861 

496 pages, Hardcover
Young Adult - ages 14 &up

 Whoa, this book is so much darker than I recall The Mortal Instruments series ever being.  Seriously, the villains’ transgressions involve the flaying of skin and craziness I couldn’t help but compare to Buffalo Bill in Silence of the Lambs. I thought zombies were creepy but wait till you get a load of the creatures in Clockwork Angel. They are creeeepy! lol

The story is set in Victorian London and follows Shadowhunters  Will and Jem in their efforts to assist Miss Tessa Gray in finding her brother, while also finding out if the numerous humans, or mundanes, going missing are due to Downworlders violating the Accords.
Tessa arrived in London from New York at her brother Nathaniel’s behest but almost instantly she is kidnapped and held hostage by Dark Sisters. She is found by Shadowhunters tracking evidence of the mundane murders, but her trauma has also revealed a secret to her, and the Shadowhunters are determined to find out all they can in order to try and keep peace in the city. So many mysteries remain unanswered for Tessa and she isn’t about to trust just anyone.  Especially when she realizes no one knows where her brother is or if he is even still alive.

This story  is a bit complicated, with tons of moving parts and characters, just like pieces of a clock. It might be a little difficult to hang on to at first but if you stick with the moving parts and make it to last chapters in order to see it all begin to come together, readers will definitely appreciate the story and the set-up that this book 1 provides for the rest of the trilogy.

This book is a solid stand-alone, not at all spoiling any of the surprises in The Mortal Instruments books, and instead truly complimenting them with a fuller picture of the Shadowhunter world and history. So don’t be concerned to read Clockwork Angel if you haven’t read the other series; it’s perfectly safe. 

Last week, Cassandra Clare had a live chat via Simon & Schuster and and she made an exciting announcement. TMI is going to have THREE additional books!!  Books 4, 5, and 6 are tentatively titled City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire.  A friend of mine attended her signing at Barnes and Noble that same day after the chat and said that the info was pretty much the exact same as what I saw on the chat but that she did say there would be character deaths in these books. It’s PURE speculation but for whatever reason we both feel it will be Simon, lol! Go figure.  You can watch the chat below so check it out!

(I don't know what's going on with my stupid computer but it won't let me embed or even copy & paste otherwise I'd have put the actual chat here instead of just the link *grrr*)


  1. Loved how you compared the complicatedness of te plot to clockwork-- Clockwork Angel was awesome! Great review. :)

  2. Hi, stumbling around blogs :=)

    I really must read Clare, she sounds so good

  3. @Linna-thank u!
    @Blodeuedd- she's awesome!! I love this series, definitely a must-read :)